Newspaper Archive of
N. Warren Town and County News
Norwalk, Iowa
May 22, 2014     N. Warren Town and County News
PAGE 10     (10 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
PAGE 10     (10 of 16 available)        PREVIOUS     NEXT      Full Size Image
May 22, 2014

Newspaper Archive of N. Warren Town and County News produced by SmallTownPapers, Inc.
Website © 2022. All content copyrighted. Copyright Information.     Terms Of Use.     Request Content Removal.

Page Ten N/Wzmren Town and County News Thursday, May 22, 2014 \\; q ,! NORWALK HIGH SCHOOL SPORTS TEAMS Norwalk High School Boys Varsity Soccer Norwalk High School Girls Varsity Soccer Norwalk High School Boys JV Soccer Norwalk High School Girls JV Soccer. Photos by Toni Johnson Photography. Iowa Newspaper Foundation Scholarships Eleven Iowa students have been selected as recipi- ents of Iowa Newspaper Foundation (INF) scholarships for the 2014-2015 academic year. The scholarships are awarded to students preparing for a career in the news- paper industry. This year's awards and recipients include-Le Mars Daily Sentinel Scholarship, $500: Jamie Byrnes gradu- ated from Harlan Community High School and attends Morningside College. Carter Pitts Scholarship Endow- ment Award, $500: Andrew Buenger graduated from Clay Central/Everly High School and attends Central College. Iowa Joumalism Institute Scholarship, $1,000 total: Two awards for 2014,2015. A graduate from Coon Rap- ids-Bayad High School, Dora Grote attends the Uni- versity of Iowa .and will receive a $50 award. Madeline Topf will graduate from Ames High School and attend Carleton College in Minnesota. She will also receive a $500 award. David W. Belin Scholarship, $1,000: Following gradu- ation from Maquoketa ValleySenior High School, Jenna Reeves now attends Iowa State University. Iowa Newspaper Foundation Scholarships: $2,000 total: Four awards for 2014-2015. Lauren Coffey, a gradu- ate from Johnston Senior High School attends the Uni- versity of Iowa and will receive $500. A high school graduate from Oxford Academy in California, Steffi Lee attends Simpson College and will receive $500. Follow- ing graduation from Lincoln High School, another $500 recipient, Amy Luong, will attend the University of Iowa. Also receiving the $500 award is Mikaela Parrick, who will graduate from Central Lyon High School and attend the University of Iowa. Fred W. Woodward Scholarship, $500: Riley Cole, a student at West Delaware High School, will graduate and attend Wartburg College. Iowa College Media Association Scholarship, $500: Laura Goettsch graduated from Green Mountain- Garwin High School and attends Grand View Univer- sity. The Iowa Newspaper Foundation received 75 appli- cations for the 11 scholarships. These annual scholar- ships are one way the INF contributes to the education of young Iowans anticipating newspaper careers. The Iowa Newspaper Foundation is grateful to the Woodward Foundation for their support of the Fred W. Woodward Scholarship. The scholarship honors the late Fred W. Woodward, lbngtime publisher of the Dubuque Telegraph Herald. The David W. Belin Scholarship is awarded to a stu- dent attending or planning to attend the Greenlee School of Journalism and Communication at Iowa State Uni- versity and is in conjunction with the Iowa Journalism Institute awards which are funded through a gift to the Iowa Newspaper Foundation by Gary Gerlach and Michael Gartner. The late David W. Belin was a nation- ally-recognized lawyer and longtime business partner of Gerlach and Gartner. Two scholarships are given in memory of the late Carter Pitts, longtime publisher of the Le Mars Daily Sentinel and the first president of the Iowa Newspaper Foundation. The Carter Pitts and Le Mars Daily Senti- nel scholarships are funded by an annual gift from the Daily Sentinel. The Carter Pitts Scholarship Endowment award wasset up through a gift established by mem- bers of the Pitts family. The Iowa Newspaper Foundation scholarships are provided through contributions from Iowa newspapers and the Pages for the 21st Century program. The Iowa College Media Association (ICMA) is of- .fered to a student attending a college or university with a membership in ICMA. The INF will offer scholarshils for students again next year. An online application will be available to all public and private high schools in Iowa as well as col- lege and university journalism and mass communica- tion departments. Look for more information on the Iowa Newspaper Association website at www.inanews. com in September 2014. In-Floor ~ Geothermal Heating "Insured & Certified" (5t5) 989-0106 SALES ~ SERVICE ~ REPLACEMENT BATHROOM REMODEL